In 2005, wetlands covered an estimated 6.36% of the Niagara Watershed. It was estimated that 18.5% of the watershed was covered by natural areas, with a long-term target set for 30% to be covered.

Source: Natural Peninsula Conservation; Watershed Report Card, 2007

“A watershed is an area of land over which rain, snow and water drain into a common water body such as a river, creek or lake”. The Niagara Watershed covers over 2,424 km2, encompassing the whole of the Niagara Region, 21 per cent of the City of Hamilton and 24 per cent of Haldimand County. The watershed covers 12 area municipalities: Fort Erie, Grimsby, Lincoln, Niagara Falls, Niagara-on-the-Lake, Pelham, Port Colborne, St. Catharines, Thorold, Wainfleet, Welland and West Lincoln, along with the City of Hamilton and Haldimand County.

In general, the watershed can be divided into three main areas, depending on the source and flow of the water as indicated on the map that follows: Lake Ontario, Niagara River and Lake Erie Watersheds.

Figure 3.5

Niagara Watersheds

Niagara Region, 2011

The Niagara Region website provides a list of Smart Tips to be used to protect and conserve water around the house, in the yard and while out and about. They also created a directory of local groups and associations that promote water protection and conservation. Groups hold events for cleanup efforts or workshops and information sessions focused on eco-friendly practices. WaterSmart Niagara provides a means for tracking and coordinating protection of the Niagara watershed and reports on initiatives taken in Niagara. Source: Niagara Region

Use the icons below to Share!